‘Sucker Punch’ being called, Alice in Wonderland with machine guns

Leave a comment

July 28, 2010 by Chris Reynolds

(Original Photo: Clay Enos) The cast of "Sucker Punch"as they appeared in Entertainment Weekly.

I read the synopsis for this film and rolled my eyes. In the 1950’s a girl (Emily Browning) was sent to an insane asylum by her stepfather. Once there she hides in an imaginary world in order to help her cope and escape before she is lobotomized. Sounded really hokey to me.

But then I saw the trailer, and after my eyes feasted on the cinematic beauty of it, I was still hungry for more. Dragons, sword fights, machine guns, aerial acrobatics, beautiful girls with vengeful attitudes… this could work!

Only an unstable mind could create such a dark and wondrous reality (Take a look at Tim Burton for instance). Burton, however, is not directing this film. Someone equally as imaginative in dark, epic fantasy will take the helm instead. That man is Zack Snyder (Watchmen).

To me, this movie looks a lot like “Shutter Island” meets “The Power Puff Girls.” And I don’t hate it! From what I can tell, five or six girls are trying to escape from this imagined world, which may be a fantastic representation of what they are doing in reality. Although in movies like this, you can’t really be sure if anything or anyone is actually real.

What is real though, is how Browning looks so natural in this role of this vulnerable bad-ass. Along with her acting, the mix of actual history and intense fantasy elements is what, I think, helps the story become visually and emotionally interesting, while staying original.

Either way, I hope this is one of those cases where the trailer reflects exactly what the film will be like, and didn’t just show us the best parts because I am definitely interested in seeing more.

What do you think of the trailer? How about the idea of the film? The Look the Feel? I want to hear from you.

Write Your Comments Below

Search by Genre

Enter your email address to subscribe to Future Film and receive new post notification emails.

