‘Halo’ movie will ‘change everything’

Leave a comment

July 30, 2010 by Chris Reynolds

A screen shot of the Halo 3 television spot

From the news desk at halothemovie.org comes some optimistic, but lackluster news from Microsoft’s Franchise Development Director regarding the status of the highly anticipated ‘Halo’ movie.

The words were spoken by Director Frank  O’Connor at the MI6 Conference in April. And they are as follows according to halothemovie.org:

We’re going to make a movie when the time is right. We own the IP. If we want to make a movie, the scale of all the other stuff that we do changes dramatically. We make tens and tens of millions of dollars on ancillary stuff, toys, apparel, music and publishing. If we do a movie all of that will grow exponentially. We have some numbers if we do a movie, but it changes everything. It also changes our target and age demographic.

At first, the news seems good, but then you realize it all comes down to how much money they will make. I mean, I guess I can’t say I blame them. If I made as much as Microsoft does, I would be pinching pennies too…

It seems to me that they are trying to squeeze every last bit of selling power out of the video game series before moving onto the next cash cow. Introducing new characters and scenarios, so they can sell more figurines and online content.

And don’t get me wrong, I am very excited for Halo:Reach to hit the Xbox 360 in September, but after that, it may be time for a break. I think if Microsoft finished the Halo game series with Reach, a bang if you will, then that would be gold. They could keep selling maps and content, while starting production of the film.

And I am not too sure the age demographic is going to be affected too much. Last time I checked, people of ALL AGES played Halo.

Not to mention, the level of violence wont be any greater, the sci fi/ video game audiences will still be there and the only change I can foresee is having to appeal to another audience: everyday movie goers. I think with the great story Halo has to offer movie fans and the action-packed epicness of the franchise, appealing to a wider audience wont be a problem at all. In my opinion, if the movie is done right and true to form, they wont have to change a thing. Except maybe their wallet sizes.

Write Your Comments Below

Search by Genre

Enter your email address to subscribe to Future Film and receive new post notification emails.

